“Be still, and know that I am God.” :A solid Answer.

imageYesterday I went on a hike for my workout.  I love to connect with God in nature, so I decided to go to a local trail in the mountains I hadn’t traveled to in quite some time.  I am on a journey to reconnect with my true self, likes, dislikes, and joys, knowing that Christ lives within me and He has made me who I am.

As I began the walk I got excited.  I didn’t know where the trail would take me because I was surrounded by woods, but I heard God’s gentle voice say “Do not be afraid, I am with you.”  So, I went further and further seeing a path of flowers, a bunny, joyous birds, a beautiful creek, and of course, bugs.  I continued to listen for anything God had to tell me, hoping I would hear some miraculous answer for my next stage in life.  You see, I am at a crossroads in my life at this time because there is a transition happening.  One season is ending while another amazing one will begin, with the Lord’s guidance.  I don’t know the plans God has for me in full, but I know they are great and He is good.  I am really looking forward to watch Him work and see what unfolds; may He have the glory.  I am in a place of waiting to take the next step of faith in my fitness journey, that will allow me to help more people.  After all, God’s purpose for me is to love and help others, responding to His very own grace and mercy.

I continued to climb the mountain with the reassurance He was with me.  I longed to hear an outrageous piece of insight or wisdom directly from His mouth.  I thought maybe when I reached the top, I could think clearer and hear Him more clearly, so I continued to climb as He kept prompting me that there was more for me to see.

I reached the first place of clearing, high above the valley.  It was beautiful, smelled of catnip, and the sun shone all around, as far as I could see.  There was a slight breeze.  I smiled, stopped, and said, “Here I am God.”  It was just He and I.  I was overly joyed to gaze upon His beauty of creation.  I waited for that big, brilliant answer, as this answer I have been seeking from Him for quite some time now.  I yearn to do right in His eyes and to follow His path.  He reassured me He was with me, guiding me and leading me in life, and I was on His ‘path’ for me.  I smiled and asked the Big Question: “What is it you want me to do now?”  He replied, “Be still, and know that I am God.”  That was the answer, followed by “Trust Me.”

In that moment I knew I am exactly where God wants me to be in my journey.  I knew I had to keep waiting on Him, which is what His answer to me has been for a long while now, years actually.  During those years, He has shown me small steps to take when necessary, but I’ve found that those small acts of obedience make up the larger journey.  I said okay, and continued higher, but knowing that when I headed back down the mountain, I had my answer, and I had it all along.

Leave a Reply

